Conceal Carry Products Abilene TX
We are currently offering Concealed Handgun License (CHL) classes for Abilene and the surrounding Big Country area.

Day and Time of CHL Classes

Our chl classes will be held at our store location each month and include range time to be scheduled during each class.

Next CHL Class Dates:

TBA

Women Only CHL Class will be held upon request –
please call or come by and tell us you are interested

Our primary goal is to offer safe and personalized instruction. You will receive instruction with a Qualified Texas CHL Instructor with over 15 years of experience in providing concealed handgun license instruction to Texas students.

Obtaining a Conceal Carry Handgun License in the State of Texas requires successful completion of a minimum 10 hour certification course which follows the outline stipulated by the Texas Department of Public Safety and covers such topics as gun safety, gun storage, conflict resolution and the use of force as well as Texas laws regulating the holders of a concealed weapons license.

Obtaining a New Concealed Handgun License ($110)

1. Register at the store for the classroom instruction.  Course price is $110

To obtain a CHL in the State of Texas you must complete the 10 hour classroom course, qualify with a handgun by obtaining at least a 175/250 shooting score on a certified DPS range, and pass a 50 question exam.

Once you have met these requirements, you will then submit your application to the State of Texas, pay the registration fee and submit to a complete background check.

2. OPTIONAL:  Request your CHL packet from the State of Texas here This is not necessary – we will provide one for you, but you are welcome to obtain your own.

PLEASE – DO NOT fill it out.  We will do this during the class to ensure that it is filled out correctly.

3. What to bring to your chl class.

Classroom Portion:  Please, NO weapons or ammunition should be brought into the classroom portion

State I.D, Driver’s License, U.S. Passport or Military I.D.

  • State I.D, Driver’s License, U.S. Passport or Military I.D.
  • Notepad and a black pen (many state documents require black ink)
  • If you requested your Application Package, please bring it. (But remember, you don’t have to have done this, we will provide one)

Range Qualification Portion:

  • Bring your UNLOADED handgun and UNLOADED magazine in a bag or case

We recommend either a 9mm, .380 or .40 Caliber Semi-Auto Handgun, but you may qualify with any Caliber of .32acp or above.

Please LEAVE YOUR GUN in your vehicle until the instructor asks you to bring it into the shooting range.

  • At a minimum 50 rounds of ammunition (more if you need to practice)
  • Safety Glasses and Hearing Protection.  If you don’t have these items, we will provide them for you

(Remember, if you qualify with an automatic pistol, you may carry either a revolver or automatic.  But, if you qualify with a revolver, you may only carry a revolver.)

 

Obtaining a Renewal Concealed Handgun License ($60)

1. Register at the store for the classroom instruction.  Course price is $60

To obtain a CHL in the State of Texas you must complete the 4 hour classroom course, qualify with a handgun by obtaining at least a 175/250 shooting score on a certified DPS range.

Upon successful completion of both classroom and range portions, you will receive a Certificate of Completion. Then you will need to get a new passport photo. DPS NO Longer Requires Fingerprint cards for CHL Renewal applicants.

You will then submit the completed application, the Proficiency Certificate, and Passport photo They will review and send back your License , usually within a month.

2. OPTIONAL:  You may apply for one online at the Texas CHL Website, but it is not required to attend our class.

You have 1 year to send in your application & Training Certificate after completing the required course. But you may NOT carry your pistol until you receive the Renewed CHL from DPS.

I always suggest that my Renewal Student to take the renewal coarse at least 3 months before your current CHL expires.

3. What to bring to your chl class.

Classroom Portion:  Please, NO weapons or ammunition should be brought into the classroom portion

State I.D, Driver’s License, U.S. Passport or Military I.D.

  • State I.D, Driver’s License, U.S. Passport or Military I.D.
  • Notepad and a black pen (many state documents require black ink)
  • If you requested your Renewal Package, please bring it. (But remember, you don’t have to have done this, we will provide one)

Range Qualification Portion:

  • Bring your UNLOADED handgun and UNLOADED magazine in a bag or case

Please LEAVE YOUR GUN in your vehicle until the instructor asks you to bring it into the shooting range.

  • At a minimum 50 rounds of ammunition (more if you need to practice)
  • Safety Glasses and Hearing Protection.  If you don’t have these items, we will provide them for you

(Remember, if you qualify with an automatic pistol, you may carry either a revolver or automatic.  But, if you qualify with a revolver, you may only carry a revolver.)

Image credit: <a href=’http://www.123rf.com/photo_4321234_45-caliber-pistol-in-holster-for-concealment.html’>operative401 / 123RF Stock Photo</a>